bricolage IV

Marc Yeats - Composer

bricolage IV

For bass clarinet and guitar

Dedicated to Jane and Tim champion

In the arts, bricolage (French for ‘do-it-yourself’ projects) is the construction or creation of a work from a diverse range of things that happen to be available. bricolage IV is no exception. Here, musical materials are assembled from a number of pre-existing pieces, particularly the 2012 solo bass clarinet piece quarter-sounds and the 2022 solo guitar piece, bricolage I

The piece has a duration of six and a half minutes. bricolage VI is a timecode supported polytemporal composition meaning that each player performs in their own independent tempi, structurally organised through timecode printed throughout each player’s part that is read in conjunction with their individual mobile phone stopwatches that are approximately synchronised at the start of the piece. bricolage IV is notable for its stream of gentle bass clarinet multiphonics juxtapositioned in dialogue with articulated guitar figurations. 

Duration 6.5 minutes