Category: STRINGS

Marc Yeats - Composer

obscure sorrows (2019)

Dedicated to my friend, William A.P.M. Duo for clarinet (doubling Bass Drum) and violin. Programme note: This piece is a timecode-supported polytemporal composition. It has been created by combining materials from liquid music (2017) for solo B-flat clarinet and materials from cutouts (2014) for violin. The addition of a bass drum, played by the clarinettist,…
Read more

pulviscular observation (2019)

Dedicated to my dear friend, GrĂ¡inne Mulvey pulviscular observation is an intimate, compressed, elegiac and sometimes explosive 11-minute piece for double string quartet. pulviscular observation‘s relationship to landscape, intuitively established through self-borrowed materials taken from observation 4, and observation 5 and before them, the original observation quartets, observation 1, and observation 2 is frequently audible…
Read more

pulviscular compression (2019)

pulviscular compression is an 11-minute piece for 19 string instruments spatially organised as four string quartets and three double basses. pulviscular compression is a terse, compressed, agitated and somewhat relentless composition that attempts to establish a comparative degree of calmness and resolution toward its conclusion. pulviscular compression‘s relationship to landscape, intuitively established through self-borrowed materials…
Read more