intoxicated by escape (2020)

Marc Yeats - Composer

intoxicated by escape (2020)

intoxicated by escape for soprano saxophone and piano

intoxicated by escape is dedicated to saxophonist, Giovanni De Luca.

Duration: circa 12 minutes  

Programme Note:

The quietest point 
Just before the storm
Intoxicated by escape
The beast emerges

Marc Yeats ©2005
soprano saxophone

Although the title for this piece is taken from a poem of mine, there is no programmatic intention in what unfolds as sound: any or no relationship to the title and the sounding music is forged at the discretion of the composer, performer and listener. Despite this statement, there is an unfolding of material that manifests through contrasting sections of music to hopefully provide the listener with a compelling experience even without programmatic intent. It is the interplay between and within these sections that is the narrative content of the composition.


The material constituting the writing in both the saxophone and piano parts stem from, among other sources, self-borrowed and enhanced materials from each changing, for Eb Clarinet solo which itself was appropriated and adapted from the violin part in always searching for home (2020), two compositions that immediately preceded this, and where those materials were themselves self-borrowed and transformed from the violin 1 part of the 2016 string quartet, observation 5. In addition, a bar of material self-borrowed from liquid music (2017) for B-flat clarinet is much expanded and developed in these pieces (see below).

For more information about how timecode-supported polytemporal music works, please watch this video:

© Marc Yeats October 2020