obscure sorrows (2019)

Marc Yeats - Composer

obscure sorrows (2019)

Dedicated to my friend, William A.P.M.

Duo for clarinet (doubling Bass Drum) and violin.

This is a timecode-supported polytemporal duo piece.

Programme note:

This piece is a timecode-supported polytemporal composition. It has been created by combining materials from liquid music (2017) for solo B-flat clarinet and materials from cutouts (2014) for violin. The addition of a bass drum, played by the clarinettist, brings an unexpected element of drama to the piece. The duo is a virtuosic tour de force for both instrumentalists.

Duration: circa 11 minutes in duration.

Clarinet in B-flat