i urge the moment forward (2020)

Marc Yeats - Composer

i urge the moment forward (2020)

i urge the moment forward for piano

Programme Note:

i urge the moment forward is dedicated to the pianist, Geoffrey Burleson.

Duration: circa 15 minutes  

Fear defines us 
Defines our borders 
Furnishes our state 
Holds us down 
And Blinds 

I urge the moment forward 
For another 
More valuable one 
Is waiting 
Like sand 
To fall through my fingers

Marc Yeats ©2005

Although the title for this piece is taken from a poem of mine, there is no programmatic intention in what unfolds as sound: any or no relationship to the title and the sounding music is forged at the discretion of the composer, performer and listener. Despite this statement, there is an unfolding of material that manifests through contrasting sections of music to hopefully provide the listener with a compelling experience even without programmatic intent. It is the interplay between and within these sections that is the narrative content of the composition.

The material used here stems from, among other sources, self-borrowed and enhanced materials from the piano material found in intoxicated by escape for soprano saxophone and piano and each changing, for E-flat Clarinet which itself was appropriated and adapted from the violin part in always searching for home (2020), compositions that immediately preceded this, and where those materials were themselves self-borrowed and transformed from the violin 1 part of the 2016 string quartet, observation 5. In addition, a bar of material self-borrowed from liquid music (2017) for B-flat clarinet, is much expanded and developed in these pieces (see below).

© Marc Yeats October 2020