PAGAN (1996-97)

Marc Yeats - Composer

PAGAN (1996-97)

PAGAN is the original, complete orchestral work that comprises PAGAN I and PAGAN II. I divided PAGAN into two halves in the belief that it would be easier to receive performances of the smaller sections of the work, and this was the case, certainly regarding PAGAN II, which received several performances and broadcasts. It remains my intention that PAGAN in its entirety is the ideal presentation of this work.

PAGAN is dedicated to Peter Maxwell Davies.


Flutes 1, 2, 3, doubling Piccolos 1, 2, 3.

3 Oboes (3rd. doubling Cor Anglais)

2 Clarinets in Bb, Bass Clarinet in Bb

2 Bassoons, Contrabassoon

4 Horns in F

3 Trumpets in C (1st. doubling Piccolo Trumpet in F)

2 Tenor Trombones, Bass Trombone



Percussion (4)*

Pianoforte (Grand)

Strings (16. 14. 12 .10. 8)

*Percussion: Claves, Wood Blocks (high medium and low), Agogo Bells (high medium and low) 2 suspended cymbals (high and low), Maracas, Tom-toms (high medium and low) 2 sets, very large Bass Drum, Xylophone.

Duration: circa 32 minutes.