The Anatomy of Water (1998)

Marc Yeats - Composer

The Anatomy of Water (1998)

For orchestra. Dedicated to Mark Hewitt.

3 Flutes, 3rd. doubling piccolo
3 oboes, 3rd. doubling cor anglais
3 clarinets in B flat, 3rd. doubling bass clarinet
3 bassoons, 3rd. doubling contrabassoon
4 horns in F
3 trumpets in C
2 tenor trombones, bass trombone
Percussion (4)*
2 harps

*Percussion: 1 mid. pitched suspended cymbal, sizzle cymbal, 2 high-pitched, bright suspended cymbals, maracas, deep tam-tam, deep bass drum, 8 tuned gongs (descending from middle C thus: G, F, E flat, C#, B, A, F#, E), glockenspiel, bass marimba, vibraphone.

Duration: 24 minutes.

Please message me through the contact page should you wish to inquire about hiring scores and parts or downloading PDFs of parts for performance.

The Anatomy of Water does not attempt to convey a picture of the sea in a representational way; my concerns were centred around the ‘feel’ of deep water, exploring aspects such as underwater currents, tides and waves, and the way that the sounds are altered to become blurred and echo like when heard through water. Other factors include mythological creatures like Sirens and Mermaids with their haunting calls and songs.