Marc Yeats - Composer

PAGAN II (1996)

For Orchestra. Dedicated to Sir Peter Maxwell Davies. First performed by the Tokyo City Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Naohiro Totsuka, Tokyo City Opera Concert Hall Tokyo, November 1997. A BBC Radio 3 broadcast with the BBC Philharmonic conducted by Sir Peter Maxwell Davies took place February 2000. Instrumentation: 3[3 picc]. 3[1.2.3] 3[1.2.3/Bcl] 3[1.2.Cbn] – 4…
Read more

The Round and Square Art of Memory (1999)

The Round and Square Art of Memory for piano and orchestra. Commissioned by the BBC for the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra and Kathryn Stott (piano). 1st performance to take place on 5th Feb. 2000 at the Bridgewater Hall, Manchester, BBC Philharmonic Orchestra, Kathryn Stott (piano), conductor Martyn Brabbins. Dedicated to Kathryn Stott and the BBC Philharmonic.…
Read more

mad canary (1999)

5 mins. solo piccolo. Premiere – Ingrid Cauliford, Aukland New Zealand 2002.Performance on video by Christina Ledford.    

I See Blue (1995)

For orchestra. First performed by the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Martyn Brabbins, Studio 7, BBC North, Manchester, November 1995. Dedicated to Sally Beamish and Robert Irvine. Instrumentation: 3[1.2.Picc.] 3[1.2.Ca] 3[1.2.Bcl] 3[1.2.Cbn] – 4 3 3 1 – Harp – Pianoforte (Grand) – 1* – Strings 16 14 12 10 8. *bass drum Duration: 14 minutes…
Read more

room (1997)

14 minutes for piano. First performed by Richard Casey, Manchester University, February 1998. Imagine what it would be like to be incarcerated in a small, enclosed area, having no contact with the outside world and no hope of escape. The ‘room’ of the title refers to this imaginary space and was the starting point of…
Read more

pumping iron (1996)

for clarinet, horn, trumpet, piano, harp, 2 violins, viola, cello and double bass | 16 mins. First performed by Psappha, by Paul MacAlindin, Royal Northern College of Music, Manchester, November 1997. Pumping Iron is about sensation; an almost physical delight in the power of rhythm and dissonance to get inside people and drag them, willingly or…
Read more

flute quartet (1994)

This work is currently unavailable. 17 minutes duration. For flute, violin, viola and cello. First performed by Alison Mitchell (flute) and members of the Edinburgh String Quartet, broadcast on BBC Radio Scotland, November 1995. Note: This work is no longer available.